Print shall live on! Maybe…

Although many are shouting that print is dying, there are some people who just don’t agree. I am almost one of those people.

 Photograph: Martin Argles for the Guardian
Photograph: Martin Argles for the Guardian

There is a sense of comfort to holding a real book in your hands, a sense of accomplishment felt when turning a page, and a sense of superiority afforded to those who carry massive volumes in their hands as they wait in line at the coffee shop. (We are all hipsters at heart, right?)

While this love of print books may be a sentimental notion, and one that not everyone will agree, we can see that print is not yet dead. In 2013, “Nearly 70 percent of consumers [felt] it [was] unlikely that they will give up on printed books by 2016.  Consumers have an emotional and visceral/sensory attachment to printed books, potentially elevating them to a luxury item.”, and still in 2015 the sales of print books exceed the sales of ebooks (and e-readers).

I would like to think that publishing books in print won’t ever die, I certainly can see a switch with magazines and news publications. I used to have magazine subscriptions sent to my house when I was younger, but now all you need to do to find a good article is log into facebook or twitter. The magazine publications are publishing their articles on their web pages instead of their additions, and I think this trend will continue until print magazines are a thing of the past.

I am not as sentimental about magazines, but maybe some people are.

What are your opinions?

Sources:

Library Journal on book trends:

http://www.infodocket.com/2013/12/10/study-new-study-uncovers-surprising-results-of-ebook-printed-books-trends/

Forbes on Hardcover book sales:

http://www.forbes.com/sites/jeremygreenfield/2013/11/19/hardcover-sales-growth-outpacing-ebooks-in-2013/

Predictions for ebook sales in 2015:

http://aksomitis.com/2014/12/three-predictions-ebook-sales-2015/

Interesting blog I found:

http://blog.smashwords.com/2014/12/2015-book-publishing-industry.html

Different opinions from the gaurdian:

http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2015/jan/07/ebook-printed-word-reader-e-reader

9 thoughts on “Print shall live on! Maybe…

  1. rebekahjoy94 February 3, 2015 / 6:33 pm

    I agree. While it may be easier for newspapers and journals to go solely digital, I view books in a different light. Fiction books with vast amounts of information and facts especially come with a different experience when reading on a screen vs paper. These books need to be sifted through and analyzed in person rather than skipping to pages on an electronic device. Likewise, children’s stories will never go full digital as kids and parents prefer hard books for bedtime stories. While it may be more convenient to read on a kindle or iPad, I think the homeyness of print books will ensure their longevity,

    Like

    • jesslangone February 3, 2015 / 7:14 pm

      I like that you said that these books need to be sifted through. We should have people that go through books and let us know which ones need to be read in print for full effect.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. courtneycalderon February 14, 2015 / 9:17 pm

    All hail print! I completely agree. I think that as much as the print industry is changing, it will never completely die out. I have yet to succumb to the Kindle, Nook or even an iPad. So, maybe I just haven’t experienced going paperless yet. But for now, I really can’t imagine having an empty bookshelf and never walking out of Barnes & Noble with a brand new book. I know I’m not alone in that feeling.

    Also, being in the advertising field has made me realize how much business still rely on print. We’re constantly having to make brochures, direct mailers, and other collateral that people claim to be “dead.” I expect things to constantly change and evolve, such as the severe disappearance of print media like magazines, but it will be a very long time before print disappears completely.

    Like

  3. awebb8 February 14, 2015 / 9:42 pm

    Jess,
    I officially love your blog posts. I agree that i don’t think publishing books in print will die out. People i LOVE the smell of a new book and it actually takes me longer to read a book over a Kindle or Ibooks. Its nice oath the physical book in your heads and give you a different experience and, to me, keeps your attention long. Magazines are something else that wont die out. People, mostly my sister, loves to have a wedding magazine around her house at all times but when you have a Kindle or an iPad and you forget to charge it, your out of luck. I think it beneficial for magazines to publish their articles both for the web and the print. It gives them another reason to try and sell themselves as being tech savvy as a business.
    Ashlynn Webb

    Like

  4. daydreambeliever95 February 15, 2015 / 4:14 am

    I love print books so much. A world without them sounds incredibly sad. That being said, I personally have made the switch to buying far more eBooks than print books, strictly because they are so much cheaper. While I do not believe the print industry is in danger of dying off, I do believe it will continue to slow down. (On a side note: I absolutely love print magazines. I cannot get through them online; it just is not the same.)

    Like

  5. nastashatorrez February 17, 2015 / 11:00 pm

    I am 100% with you! I love print books so much, I love the smell of old books the way I can fold, bend and mark my pages. I love how they can look amazing new and still as amazing old and worn. I can’t imagine not having bookshelves piled with books as I feel they are trophies once I have finished reading them. While I have read a few books on my phone it fails to compare to an old fashioned printed book.

    Like

    • jesslangone February 18, 2015 / 3:38 am

      I think we all agree that the smell and feel of print books surpass the convenience of an ebook!

      Like

  6. allenrowan2015 February 18, 2015 / 1:34 am

    I think print books will definitely continue to exist. Too many people enjoy the way they feel and smell (as weird as that sounds) and the way they can flip back and forth between chapters or what have you, myself included. I will always love them more than digital books, but when I’m low on cash, sometimes I don’t really have a choice. I have to pick the cheaper alternative, which is, unfortunately, e-books.

    Like

    • jesslangone February 18, 2015 / 3:32 am

      I completely agree! I love the way old books smell, like an aged library. I even think new books that smell like ink are awesome, so smelling books does not sound weird. I also agree, when you are low on cash ebooks are cheaper. For me, that is normally the case when it comes to textbooks. What I have started doing is just renting textbooks on my kindle, which is way cheaper than buying or renting the book in print.

      Like

Leave a Reply

