Where do I start?

Image Credit: ThinkStock
Image Credit: ThinkStock  (Click image for surprise article!)

As an undergraduate english major that transferred from engineering, I don’t have much knowledge on the publishing process. This class was me trying to step up and learn a few things. I have submitted some work to the cypress dome magazine, but I am still super anxious when it comes to publishing anything. I want to take some time in this post to go over some of the things I have learned about publishing, on any level for the literary writer.

Here I made a list for you:

  1. Write your work: Whether you are writing a novel, short story, poetry, etc, you want to have something tangible before you start looking to be published
  2. Think about your audience and research the market that caters to it: Basically, do your homework, you can’t just call a publishing company and see if they would be interested in what you are working on. Find a publisher that is looking for what you are selling
  3. Prepare a professional manuscript: Also goes along with doing your homework, and it should follow: KISS- keep it simple, silly. Don’t have fancy fonts (12inch Times New Roman), double spaced, one inch margins, nice paper,(the whole nine yards…), etc. Hardcopy, and electronic.
  4. Send it in
  5. Keep writing
  6. Don’t give up

I know this is a rudimentary list and seems self explanatory, but I like to see things written down for me.

Anything to add?

 

I have a few links below, some sources and some interesting reads.

Interview with a writer: http://blog.longreads.com/2015/02/03/taking-the-slow-road-an-interview-with-author-katherine-heiny/

Start here: http://janefriedman.com/2012/01/28/start-here-how-to-get-your-book-published/

Three questions asked when writing a book proposal: http://www.writersdigest.com/editor-blogs/there-are-no-rules/3-questions-to-ask-when-writing-a-book-proposal

Ten steps toward finding a publisher: http://www.writing-world.com/publish/tensteps.shtml

Dirty Little Secrets: http://www.copyblogger.com/book-publishing-secrets/

4 thoughts on “Where do I start?

  1. rebekahjoy94 February 3, 2015 / 9:40 pm

    I would concur with your findings. I think it is very important to just keep writing. I have seen multiple well esteemed websites that take submissions. They do preface, though, that the review process takes a lot of time. With the reviewers taking 6 months to a year to even read your work, being published will take patience. So, like you said, just keep writing and keep submitting, so hopefully, eventually, you will be published!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. stephaniebaur February 7, 2015 / 7:34 pm

    I am also an aspiring writer daunted by the prospect of publication. It never seemed tangible until I began reading “Writer’s Market 2015”. I read the the Children’s Writer’s and Illustrator’s version because that is my area of interest. It provides a wealth of information on the steps of getting published from research and defining your market, to writing query letters and how to package your manuscript. But I agree wholeheartedly, the first step is to just write!

    Like

  3. allenrowan2015 February 18, 2015 / 1:47 am

    One thing I’ve done is send pieces to my friends for them to read. Getting feedback from several people will help teach you what is effective and what isn’t effective as far as your writing goes. It also gives you an idea of what aspects of your writing need work, such as diction or syntax and so on. It’s especially helpful if your friends are of the same age and/or gender as the audience you’re trying to reach. You’re your best critic, but it always helps to get advice from the people around you!

    Like

    • jesslangone February 18, 2015 / 3:29 am

      I have started to do this as well, the only problem I have found with having friends read my writing is that they don’t critique me as harshly as I would like. I have found two really good people who are comfortable enough to give me harsh feedback, but not many people do this. I think sometimes people don’t think you really want to hear what is wrong with your writing, but I do! I want to know what I am doing that is unbearable to read so I can fix it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

