Word Count :/

Since one of the categories is the writer’s publishing experience, I figured it couldn’t hurt to throw my own experiences in writing. For the past two years I’ve been working on a book of my own. I had never considered actually trying to get anything published, until I was heavily inspired by The Count of Monte Crsito in high school. Dumas has this exceptional use of literary allusions, drawing his own inspiration from works like A Thousand and One Nights, The Divine Comedy, just to name a few. So ultimately I wanted to write one large homage to my own favorite classics in literature.

Well, at least that was the idea. I’ve read a handful of tips from published writers, which I’ve found extremely helpful. Writing at least a small amount each day, designated spots to write with, time blocks from which to write in, as well as word counts to focus on a particular publisher. The last aspect was actually the toughest part for me. I had a solid idea of how I wanted my story to look and read, but the word requirement just wasn’t there. But that got to me, a creative quota that my story had to meet. Even so the word count margin for novels is relatively exact. Literaryrejections.com, a database for writers, defines general word counts for romance, crime, fantasy, horror, and even when a novel is shy on words, a novella. However if there are generalizations to be made about writing, there are those that have broken the mold. Jane Eyre, Catch-22, and The Time Traveler’s Wife are just a few examples of successful works that don’t conform to those nasty word counts. So learn from my mistakes, don’t let word counts deter you. Since, I’ve simply been writing when I’m inspired, and stop when I’ve written no more or less than I see fit.

Read here: http://www.literaryrejections.com/word-count/

2 thoughts on “Word Count :/

  1. davinadhani March 2, 2015 / 6:19 pm

    Before this article, it never even occurred to me to think about word counts for books. I had no idea that different genres had that kind of limitation. Word counts can work two ways. They can either cheapen the story by forcing the author to cut out information that would enrich it, or they can make the story better by making the author excise miscellaneous text. Nothing forces a writer to evaluate their words quite like a stringent word count and that can be a good thing. At the same time, I’m trying to imagine what would have happened if a work like Lord of the Rings had been subjected to a word count and it’s not a pretty picture. The writing world will always be a mixture of styles and you will always have minimal and verbose writers. I like the diversity.

    Like

  2. daydreambeliever95 March 5, 2015 / 10:29 pm

    I guess I have never thought about word counts for novels before. It is rather odd to think about strict rules being placed upon creative works. With visual art getting less structured in modern times, it will be interesting to see if the same abandoning of restrictions will reflect in written art. We may see more lax restrictions with the rise of self-publication, as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

