Associated Press Style

apstyle

My immediate thought to writing style was the tone and personality of the writer’s voice. I thought about the author’s choice of words, and how he, or she, chose to write their stories, but in journalism style is a little different. Journalists do need to connect with their audiences, but it has to be informative.

Journalists have to write in AP, Associated Press, Style. This is a way for journalists to have efficient, precise, and accurate information. This also provides guidelines for those who write in AP Style, such as public relations majors, to have correct grammar, spelling, punctuation, and language use. Some of these guides, according to Purdue University is:

  • Consistency
  • Clarity
  • Accuracy
  • Brevity

“AP Style also aims to avoid stereotypes and unintentionally offensive language.”

Reading through the different guidelines of Associated Press really just shares how precise and detail oriented AP style is. They discuss the specifics of addresses, ages, numerals, times, and even technological terms.

Just because you’re writing in AP Style does not mean you can’t write in your style! This is just a guideline to use so that it’s easier for people who are collaborating on your story. I linked a quick and brief video to better help others understand AP Style, for anyone who wants to learn more about writing in AP Style.

https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/735/02/

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sunJVqdKV94

2 thoughts on “Associated Press Style

  1. alyssabrady April 16, 2015 / 3:31 pm

    Until recently, I have never used AP style. But my first semester in my journalism major, it is the only thing we are allowed to use. I have bought the 2014 AP style book and it is quite tedious and there is a lot to remember.I appreciate AP style because it gives the readers a more clear and concise way of reading. If any of you ever have the chance to pick up an AP style guide, just skim through it and observe all of the small details and rules some writers follow. It amazes me that journalists remember almost every single rule. I have learned a lot this semester about AP style and even though I do not remember the whole thing, I think I am on my way.

    Like

  2. davinadhani April 20, 2015 / 2:07 pm

    I’m currently taking a class called Writing for Public Relations and AP style is the entire focus. Remembering the rules of AP is definitely the biggest challenge of this class. I also have the 2014 AP Style Book and it’s huge. Furthermore, it can be difficult to use because rules change from edition to edition. What was correct for your professor according to the book, can easily be wrong for you.

    I’m double majoring in English and Advertising and Public Relations and I only learned about the AP style through my ad/pr major. English majors should definitely be exposed to this style as well because many of them may need it later in their careers. I think AP style should even be briefly covered in high school English and journalism classes. Students should get an early overview, so they don’t feel overwhelmed with memorizing the rules later in their writing education.

    Like

Leave a Reply

