Brush up on the Basics

Basic Grammar is always useful knowledge.  Even though we are in college now, we should always have a handful of resources to use.  How long ago did we study proper sentence structure?  Do you really remember the full definition of an adverb and it placement in a sentence?  Little details can make or break a paper.  Its important to utilize any resource out there to double check our work as writers.  No matter how old we get, we will always need a little help now and again.

Resources:

http://www.talkenglish.com/Grammar/Grammar.aspx

http://www.englishchick.com/grammar/grrem.htm

http://www.towson.edu/ows/parallelism.htm

2 thoughts on “Brush up on the Basics

  1. Allison Miehl April 9, 2015 / 5:56 am

    It’s funny that you mention this because I’m actually taking a class right now called “Modern English Grammar” it definitely covers grammar in a more detailed and complicated way than I ever expected to encounter. It’s a lot of hard, tedious work, but it really forces me to look at writing very closely and I believe that it will ultimately help me become a better writer.

    Like

  2. davinadhani April 20, 2015 / 1:45 pm

    I’m glad you wrote about this subject. Proofreading has always been one of my weakest areas as a writer. I’ve always been more interested in the meaning and ideas behind my writing versus the details of it. However, as I get older, I’ve come to realize that not paying attention to proofreading can completely alter the meaning of work. Bad grammar and writing can lead to a loss of credibility in most industries today. None of us can really afford to ignore grammar or details at this stage of our education.

    Like

Leave a Reply

