Walk the Dogs on Break…

During my research for my choice of author, David Quammen I came across an article listing his average day at home, the part of his job where he’s not in some jungle halfway across the earth. What I really enjoyed was his self motivation. He really does appear to have his routine down to a science, but more importantly he works for himself. Not he’s his own boss, but he works on his own terms. His job as a writer is demands daily, a heavy workload. However, Quammen manages to trek through the payload with a calm day at home. He takes several breaks whenever he wants to; will go on a run or a jog, maybe run an errand to the post office, or walk the dogs in between work.

What I found most interesting about the article was the vast liberty Quammen possess in his everyday career. But it was easy to see that he can only accomplish this through intense self motivation and discipline. He understands what he needs to do to get work done, and this work ethic has established him as the writer he is today. I’d really like to have those liberties in my future career but I understand that I might only succeed with such freedom with a parallel work ethic. If I work just as hard I could walk my dogs for a break while working as a science writer. Sounds pretty great if you ask me.

source: http://www.theopennotebook.com/2013/09/17/a-day-in-the-life-david-quammen/

Leave a Reply

