How to Stay Inspired

One thing that I find particularly challenging about blogging is not just thinking of story ideas, but thinking of things that haven’t been written about before. How can I write about tacos without being trite? How can I make my post so interesting that people well-versed in taco-making will still want to read it?

Domenica Marchetti writes about this in her blog post “Looking for Inspiration? Open Your Eyes…and Get to Work”. She gives her own perspective, and that of three other writers, on how to stay inspired.

Some ways that the writers listed are to never stop researching, write for yourself as much as you write for your audience, relish in small moments that inspire you, and ask yourself what the world needs to read about.

One piece of advice that stood out to me was from author Nancy Baggett, who said to remember that anything can be unique and gave the example of baking shortbread. It only has a few simple ingredients, but the way you prepare it is still unique to every baker. These nuances make for interesting reading and new perspectives.

http://www.domenicacooks.com/2011/02/looking-for-inspiration-open-your-eyes-and-get-to-work/

4 thoughts on “How to Stay Inspired

  1. courtneycalderon March 13, 2015 / 5:20 pm

    This advice was very interesting, especially the notion of writing about what the audience needs to read and learning from your audience. This goes beyond food blogging, too. You could be writing about the most newsworthy topic at the time, but if you don’t write it with your audience in mind, no one will care to listen.

    I also think it’s really smart to pay attention and learn from your audience. It’s a great tool. It’s a little bit like conducting an interview. A bad journalist is preparing the next question while the interviewee is speaking. A good journalist is listening to the response and formulating the next question as a result. I think the same goes with blog writing. You have to listen to your audience and be interactive and able to adapt. The ability to be dynamic is essential.

    Like

  2. rdomitz March 13, 2015 / 6:03 pm

    I read somewhere once, “write what you know.” But I used to think that was useless advice. How many authors write about things, people, and places that they’ve never seen or touched? In fact it seemed to me some of the best writing was completely fictitious. But then I realized what it meant. I started writing about things I’d seen or done myself. If my story was indeed made up, at least part of it wasn’t. Some of it had to be true, because when it was, my writing was exponentially easier. Description was at least mentally tangible. Thats at least how I maintain my source of inspiration. I can see what you mean about researching and writing for oneself as much as an audience. Because the parts of writing that are for the writer not the reader, seem to be all that the the writer “knows.”
    Great post, really thought provoking!

    Like

  3. Shane O'Donnell March 15, 2015 / 4:44 am

    I think the point of “write for yourself” is the most important. As someone who comes from a background of data interpretation and statistical analysis, it’s always important for you to want to know the answer to the question yourself. The writing should be just sharing your findings with the rest of the community. Writing for an audience can often result in misinterpretation of the data.

    Like

  4. chadprom March 16, 2015 / 12:29 am

    The question “what does the world need to know” is at the basis of every genre of writing, even fiction. Although fiction writers are not sharing facts or necessarily truth with the world there is a story that needs to be heard. I experienced this quotation frequently in my research and I’m beginning to realize it is a fundamental question every author, regardless of genre, should ask.

    Like

Leave a Reply

