What is Inspiration?

images-2
The Wonderful World of Creative Writing on the Web Click Image for the article!

“You don’t write because you want to say something, you write because you have something to say.”- F. Scott Fitzgerald

Writing is different for everyone. People draw inspiration from different things: music, art, nature, people. For some select few writing is possession, like a muse is sitting on your shoulder, but for most it isn’t. To find inspiration is a personal thing, and a difficult one, but there are many places to look for inspiration. The world is full of it.

Where does inspiration come from?  What is inspiring? What does inspiration even mean?

Inspiration: the process of being mentally stimulated to do or feel something, especially to do something creative.

In the article Where Do Writers Find Their Ideas?” by Richard Nordquist, ten authors are asked what their inspiration is, and they all respond differently.

Personally, I find a lot of inspiration from music. If I am writing a fiction piece, I find songs that remind me of my characters, or of their situation, and I make a playlist of these songs to listen to while I am writing. It is like a soundtrack to my writing, and it helps me to better describe the feeling in the piece. I also find ideas in songs. If I hear a song, I have an image in my head of a person or of an event happening and draw from that. Even if I don’t use these ideas for anything, they keep me engaged with the aspect of story.

I have a lot of stories show up in daydreams and while I am sleeping. I always have my laptop next to my bed, or a notebook in my bag, so I can keep track of this inspiration. In these instances, it is like a muse is sitting on my shoulder, but the difficulty comes later when I am trying to make sense of these ideas. The ideas are there but making sense of them is a different story.

 

Here is a helpful list of things to help with Inspiration: http://writetodone.com/31-ways-to-find-inspiration-for-your-writing/

Here is some Advice from the prose (get it, prose?): http://grammar.about.com/od/advicefromthepros/a/Where-Do-Writers-Find-Their-Ideas.htm

Image https://namelessmagazine.wordpress.com/2011/05/18/the-wonderful-world-of-creative-writing-on-the-web/

Fitzgerald Quote: http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/quotes/f/fscottfit162083.html#3qaM10GEJKmwo7QU.99

3 thoughts on “What is Inspiration?

  1. stephaniebaur March 16, 2015 / 12:14 am

    I would have loved to hear some of the things the ten authors in the article, “Where Do Writers Find Their Ideas?” Listed as their inspiration. Luckily, you left a link that I plan to follow up on. The way you use music as inspiration reminded me of the way director Cameron Crowe helps his actors and actresses get into character. He plays them a song of what he believes their character feels like in the scene for his performers. Writing and acting are both forms of storytelling, and I love seeing the parallels that can be drawn between the two.

    Like

    • jesslangone March 16, 2015 / 12:27 am

      I am glad you bring that up.

      I believe storytelling is the best part of writing, and I love the way music, and the visual aspect of movies and plays, can interact with readers in different ways.

      Like

  2. allenrowan2015 March 17, 2015 / 7:37 pm

    I find inspiration often comes unexpectedly and from the smallest things. I gather a lot of it from nature, personally. Being outside really allows me to be more creative. Spontaneous inspiration is the best, but I have to grab hold of it immediately, as I usually lose it fairly quickly. It doesn’t take much to be inspired, just a spark.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

