Green: Writing to Make the World a Better Place

1406384
John Green- Good Reads        Click Image for Link

The author I chose to profile is John Green. I chose him because he is not only an author of Young adult fiction, but he is also heavily involved in the community. He is a humanitarian, and a youtuber, and he is very inspirational himself.

Green is a profound writer, who deals with mature subject matter in his novels. This is what drew me to him, what made me want to profile him, because I wanted to know “where does he get his ideas?” and “how is he so profound?”

In an interview on his website he has this posted:

     Q. Where do you get your ideas for your books?

A. Well, my books don’t have capital-i Ideas, really. I don’t have ideas that hit like a ton of bricks out of nowhere, like BAM! Write a book about a wizard school! Or, Bam! Vampires in Suburbia! The ideas for my books come from lower case-i ideas. Looking for Alaska began, really, in thinking about whether there was meaning to suffering, and how one can reconcile one’s self to a world where suffering is so unjustly distributed. Paper Towns began with thinking about our fascination with manic pixie dream girls and our relentless misimagining of each other. Then little ideas will come along and link up to other little ideas and then in a few short years, I have a book. I would love to have a high-concept book idea fall out of the sky and hit me one day, but it hasn’t happened yet.

Sources:

Green’s Interview: http://johngreenbooks.com/ideas-questions/ 

3 thoughts on “Green: Writing to Make the World a Better Place

  1. chadprom March 16, 2015 / 12:26 am

    I think he explains the way ideas grow well. I have never heard of anyone having a masterpiece idea fall out of the sky for them. Instead, one thought leads to another leads to another and soon there is a bigger idea.
    I have never read his work, but your post definitely sparked my curiosity.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jesslangone March 16, 2015 / 12:33 am

      If you are going to read anything by him, I suggest “Looking for Alaska.” It is still YA, but it is better than “The Fault in Our Stars.”

      Like

  2. awebb8 March 18, 2015 / 2:33 am

    I’m also doing John Green for my Writing Profile I love him and his work so much! I had so much fun even reading his FAQ section too because he seems to even write his humor into it and I love it! I went to LeakyCon in summer 2014 and got the chance to listen to him talk multiple times about the books and even got his autograph! He is a lovely lovely person. If you ever get the chance to hear him talk about his books I HIGHLY suggest going.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

