Daily Routines of Famous Writers

I think that looking at the writing process of other writers can be a great way to help you figure out your own. I may have a certain way of going about writing, but I might have no idea that there are other strategies that could prove to be more effective for me. I found this article that talks about the routines of 12 famous writers, and I thought it was really interesting. There are some ideas that may work well for me, and some that may not. The important thing is, these ideas came from writers that made it in the world, so I think they are at least worth looking into. This article describes their writing processes much more in-depth, but I decided to include quotes from each author just for brevity.

E.B. White, author of Charlotte’s Web: “A writer who waits for ideal conditions under which to work will die without putting a word on paper.”

Haruki Murakami: “The repetition itself becomes the important thing.”

Ernest Hemingway: “I write every morning.”

Henry Miller: “When you can’t create you can work.

Kurt Vonnegut: “I do pushups and situps all the time.”

Barbara Kingsolver, Pulitzer Prize nominee: “I have to write hundreds of pages before I get to page one.”

Karen Russell, Pulitzer prize finalist: “Enjoy writing badly.”

Khaled Housseni: “You have to write whether you feel like it or not.”

Like I said, this is just a very brief snippet of some famous writers talking about their writing processes. What are some benefits to studying how other writers go about doing their work? Are there any drawbacks to examining these processes too closely?

Source:

http://jamesclear.com/daily-routines-writers

2 thoughts on “Daily Routines of Famous Writers

  1. stephaniebaur March 16, 2015 / 12:30 am

    I enjoyed this post because much of my research has led me to diverse responses on writing processes by different famous authors. However, the trend that connected them all was how prolific they were. They all harp on writing constantly, if badly, in order to write well. The author I have profiled, Daniel Handler (aka Lemony Snicket), wrote an entire book that he threw away before writing the one he attempted to get published. He believes that a whole lot of bad writing has to be done to get to the good, and therefore recommends stealing paper from work.

    Like

  2. awebb8 March 18, 2015 / 4:00 pm

    Oh I loved this! It is important to look back before you work ahead in life and this does exactly that. Seeing all the different ways writers get past writers block is so important and it may eventually help any writer. Getting advice from someone you look up is always great too, even if that in the form of a Q&A. A very popular author today is John Green, whom i picked for my writers profile. He has mornings set aside to write but even all of that writing can end in him deleting everything he wrote. He finds the best way to help writers block is to delete what he has written and start a new.

    Like

Leave a Reply

