Write Every Day?

Devina mentioned that Stephen King gets up each morning at 8:00 -8:30 and writes, and Courtney commented that she wondered if this worked for other writers the way it does for King. While I don’t think anything works for every writer in the exact same way, from what I have found reading things from other writers, a lot of people do this. Marya Hornbacher, Anne Lamott, and John Green are all writers who have said that they treat writing like a regular job. In Bird by Bird by Lamott, she expresses that you need to write regularly. King writes everyday, in On Writing he even comments that he writes on holidays and his birthdays.

Writingonlaptop
14 Writing Tips from Anne Lamott Click image for article

On John Green’s website he has this interview posted:

     Q. What is your writing process?

A. I usually get up in the morning and write for four hours, and then I eat lunch, and then in the afternoon I do web and youtube and businessy stuff for five hours. My work day is eight AM to six PM with an hour for lunch. I don’t always stick to this schedule–I travel a lot and some days I have to do non-writing stuff all day. But I am pretty good about the schedule.

     Q. How do you deal with writers’ block?

A. I just give myself permission to suck. I delete about 90% of my first drafts (the only exception to this rule so far has been Will Grayson, Will Grayson) so it doesn’t really matter much if on a particular day I write beautiful and brilliant prose that will stick in the minds of my readers forever, because there’s a 90% chance I’m just gonna delete whatever I write anyway. I find this hugely liberating. I also like to remind myself of something my dad said to me once in re. writers’ block: “Coal miners don’t get coal miners’ block.”

Most of these writers and other writers I have read about mention that they write daily, and with this frequency they write multiple drafts of their pieces. I think this is something that is really important to the writing process overall, that we are getting to learn a lot about in this class, since we write multiple drafts to review. I think it is important to have an initial draft  just to get things on paper, even if it is bad, it is a start.

What do you guys think?

3 thoughts on “Write Every Day?

  1. Shane O'Donnell March 15, 2015 / 4:48 am

    I think that it depends on the type of writing. Obviously for a fiction writer, writing everyday could be beneficial with the concept of “quantity over quality” in mind. For someone who instead focuses on scientific work, writing everyday might not be as helpful, as writing without inspiration could produce work that has no meaning. Discarding it is always an option, but writing something knowing you will throw it away can be taxing work, especially for people who do not have the time to spend on writing every day.

    Like

    • jesslangone March 15, 2015 / 3:15 pm

      I suppose for scientific writing this way might not be helpful, but what type of writing are we talking about?

      Writing doesn’t have to mean writing a piece for publication. I truly believe writing everyday can be beneficial in any profession where you would have to submit work for publication, even if the writing isn’t of any substance.

      This could mean writing in a journal, writing down data, documenting things that stuck out in your mind that might later be used in a piece for publication, writing letters, etc.

      The writing doesn’t necessarily have to be taxing essays everyday, as long as you are exercising the muscles needed to write. It is almost like the concept of reading or exercising every day.

      Like

  2. alyssabrady March 19, 2015 / 2:03 pm

    Yes! I absolutely agree with the people above, that writers should write everyday. It gets our imagine and creativity flowing. It is also very important that we have multiple drafts for our work. There is no way that our first draft will be perfect. Rome wasn’t built in a day, remember? The more we write, the more ideas that will come to our mind. The more we draft, the more we can perfect our writing. Both of these are important techniques for writers and can help us grow. Even though some people may not have the write for hours each day, I think at least 30 minutes should be spent on writing each day. Writers are constantly growing and it is important that we keep our skills intact and keep the growing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

