A Needle in a Haystack.

There are millions of talented writers in the world and sometimes it is hard to get your work to stand out from the others. In the field of travel writing, it can be especially hard since everyone is writing about extremely similar topics.

As a writer, I often feel like my work is like a needle in a haystack. Me-being the tiny needle- and the haystack-being all the other talented writers in the world. How can I make my work stand out? What makes my work so special from everyone else? Is my work special? Am I a good writer?! Thousands of questions run through my mind everyday, on how I am going to make a living out of being a successful travel writer.

From my own experience, many writers are going to write about similar topics but what is most important is the certain twist you can add to your story. Tons of travel writers have/are going to write about Paris, France but which of those articles are going to stand out? No one wants to read another story about how they should visit the Eiffel Tower.

People want to know what the locals know. They want to know the same things as people who have been living there for  the last few decades. What are the tiny hole-in-the-wall restaurants that will change your life with one bite of a pastry or sandwich? What places have the locals considered to be their favorite part in the city? The best parts of the story are the parts that are unknown, that is where the magic happens. That is where the needle will stick out of the haystack.

One thought on “A Needle in a Haystack.

  1. allenrowan2015 March 21, 2015 / 1:36 am

    I absolutely share this anxiety with you. It’s my major worry when it comes to being a writer. I’m just afraid that everything has been done before, so how in the world am I going to be a unique writer myself? How do I make people want to read my work? Sometimes it’s extremely discouraging, especially when I read books by writers such as Wally Lamb or Maya Angelou. How can I, a college student who simply aspires to be a great writer someday, follow in their footsteps? And how do I successfully publish my work? It’s a tough market, and I agree that you have to make your work stand out in order to become published. Sometimes this question lingers, though: “how?”

    Like

Leave a Reply

