What It’s Like To Have Your First Piece of Work Published

For one of my journalism classes, we had to have one of our articles published by the end of the semester or else we wouldn’t pass the class. This was absolutely terrifying to me because although I had been writing for years- and enjoyed it- I had never shared my work with anyone else.

Before I knew it, I had to interview strangers and have my article published. If you knew me personally, you would know that I am extremely shy person and the thought of talking to a stranger- let alone someone I knew- terrified me. What if I don’t have good questions for my interview? What if the people I’m interviewing think I’m annoying? What if I come up with a dull article and no one wants to publish it?

If I could go back in time six months and tell myself what I know now, I would tell myself to take a deep breath and relax because I was over thinking it. My most recent semester I learned how to become a better writer and a better journalist. The best way I learned these things was to keep out there instead of hiding behind my desk. Yes, it may seem uncomfortable talking to strangers but it really is not as bad as it seems. Most people are generally very nice and open to talking to you for your story.

As for being published, it is not hard as it sounds. There are millions of websites on the internet just waiting to publish articles, including your school’s website or newspaper. My first publication was on a website from my hometown. Basically, I would cover the event, interview people there and tell a story to my readers.

If you have not got your work published yet, don’t worry. My biggest piece of advice is don’t be so hard on yourself!

One thought on “What It’s Like To Have Your First Piece of Work Published

  1. awebb8 March 21, 2015 / 12:51 am

    LOVE LOVE LOVED Your post! Well Done! I found it extremly helpful and, much like you, I have been writing forever but have never shared my writing with anyone. I recently started writing for a Club I am in and writing for their News letters and it was nerve recking because I wanted the articles to be perfect. But I still find one typo in each paper after its published, which isn’t bad. I hope you had fun writing your article for your class and that it went well!

    Like

Leave a Reply

