Comfort Makes a Difference

I really enjoy being able to read about how others write their works and the different setting each of us has. One of my favorite TV writers, Mindy Kaling, wrote about her process in her book Is everyone hanging out without me? (And other concerns). Mindy’s process is a follows; she leaves work, she shops around and clears her head, she goes home and immediately puts on comfy clothes, she then breaks out her laptop and crawls into bed and writes all her TV scripts from the comfort of her bed. While many people have to stay away from their bedrooms, some people can’t even be in the house, Mindy does exactly what I love to do, make ourselves comfortable. Most of my work for school and otherwise is all done from my pajamas in my bed on my laptop. It might seem distracting to those who need to sit at a desk or somewhere with less distractions but the minute I can relax and get comfortable is the minute I feel prepared to write and write well. While this method doesn’t work for everyone, it should be given a chance to let yourself relax and get in whatever place makes you comfortable. Once you are you are less inclined to be distracted and you can work until you are done, or hit a block.

Source:

Is everyone hanging out without me? (And other concerns) by Mindy Kaling

Leave a Reply

