John Green Speaks Out Against Self-Publication

In an expletive-filled rant, John Green, author of The Fault in Our Stars, spoke out against self-publication. According to the Association of American Booksellers, Green said, “I am sometimes held up as an example of someone who is changing the publishing paradigm or whatever because I have a lot of Tumblr followers and YouTube subscribers and I can speak directly to my audience and I don’t need the value-sucking middleman of bookstores and publishers, and in the future everyone is going to be like me, and no one will stand between author and reader except possibly an e-commerce site that takes just a tiny little percentage of each transaction. Yeah, that’s bullshit.”

He goes on to say that he would not have any books to his name (he currently has six) were it not for his editor, his publisher, and the dedicated teams who help his stories to reach their maximum potential. He calls self-publication “an insidious lie.”

Yikes. I wouldn’t consider self-publication an insidious lie. I would prefer traditional publication, actually, to take care of the business aspects and allow me to focus on my writing. John Green has been highly successful so far (I actually rather liked The Fault in Our Stars), but it looks like he may need to add “publicist” to his list of business necessities. I guess no one told him that a publishing house can’t always sweep his asshole remarks under the rug.

http://www.theguardian.com/books/2013/jun/06/john-green-never-self-publish

Leave a Reply

