Academic vs. Informal vs. Journalistic

As someone who wrote both densely academic prose and wispy personal essays this semester, I was curious as to how professionals and scholars separate academic and casual styles. I feel like it’s one of those you know it when you see it issues. I could definitely point out when something is academic and when it is more casual, but I don’t think I could create some all-encompassing definition of the two, or some checklist to verify which is which. I found a pretty interesting resource for (Would you believe it?) accounting students that points out the clear differences between academic, informal (casual,) and journalistic writing styles.

Informal

informal

Academic

academic

Journalistic

journalistic

My quest for a (near) all-encompassing definition for each of the styles has not been fulfilled, but I don’t think it ever can be. Style is so complex. If there were a single checklist for each type of style, if there were even a complete list of each and every type of style, it wouldn’t be nearly as fun.

Source:

https://tls.vu.edu.au/vucollege/learninghub/degreestudysupport/resources_buslaw/Writing%20Style.pdf

One thought on “Academic vs. Informal vs. Journalistic

  1. awebb8 April 25, 2015 / 11:04 pm

    I love the example charts! they literally show the perfect deferences in each writing style. I do not know if you know but Journalistic writing style is also refereed to as AP Style. Journalists use it and so do Public Relations practitioners. I find it to be the easiest of the three writing styles because you write as if you’re talking and not trying to sound smart all the time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

