I Write Like H.P. Lovecraft (Hurray?)

So I stumbled across this website that analyzes your writing style and compares it to that of a famous writer. There’s a text box where you paste your writing, so I decided to copy and paste the writing from my previous post. As you can see from the title of my post, I write like H. P. Lovecraft. I had heard the name before but didn’t know much about the guy, so I searched him and found out that he was a famous horror fiction writer with a really bizarre, interesting story. I thought this was pretty funny, since I don’t write horror or fiction.

To be honest, I’m not entirely sure of the accuracy of this website. But after all, comparing writing styles may be a more subjective thing anyway, at least to some degree. The point is, though, that there may be value in understanding how your writing style compares and contrasts with that of other great writers. My other post in this section talks about knowing the styles of the greats, but I think it can be helpful to take it a step further and see to which specific writers you work compares. I hope you guys try out this website. If anything, it may give you the name of a new writer to explore. It doesn’t take long, and I’d be interested to see who everybody gets.

https://iwl.me/

And just in case you feel like learning about H. P. Lovecraft:

http://www.theguardian.com/books/2014/aug/20/ten-things-you-should-know-about-hp-lovecraft

Leave a Reply

