Is There a Secret Blueprint for Becoming a Successful Writer?

As a writer, I have an affinity for all things story telling, whether it be books, movies, TV shows, or even music. If it tells a story, chances are I’ll be at least somewhat interested in it. Through all of my partaking in this things, I’m starting to feel like everything is heading towards a state of unoriginality and these things are being to seem as if they are following a blueprint that is predisposed to being successful.

A big example of this right now, is the dystopian future craze that has been going on recently. It seems like every few weeks, there is a new dystopian future book on the shelves, and it doesn’t stay there long because everyone is eating it up. To me, it’s all every similar, The Hunger Games, Divergent, The Maze Runner, The 5th Wave. I’m not saying these books aren’t well written or unentertaining, just rather similar.

But it’s not only books, this trend shows up everywhere. Music: a big theme of country music is being sad over a girl, or hanging out with friends drinking an having a good time. Rap music: having money, doing drugs, partying, more having money. Rock music: Being sad about a girl, loving a girl, being oppressed.

Everyone knows that in just about every movie, the good guy is going to win in the end, there may be a a bit of a struggle and it may look like he’s about to lose or not make it out of the building in time before it explodes, but *spoiler alert* he makes it out in time.

I’m not saying that there is anything wrong with any of this, or that I don’t buy into it, because I do, I sing along to the same songs, I’m in the front row of the action movies, I’ve read The Hunger Games and Divergent and The Maze Runner and The 5th Wave. I’m just curious as to when the next wave of originality is going to roll around.

2 thoughts on “Is There a Secret Blueprint for Becoming a Successful Writer?

  1. awebb8 April 26, 2015 / 1:39 am

    I have noticed this trend too! in my Rhetoric in popular culture class, we are studying post-apolpitice novels, writings, and movies. My last paper was actually on the Maze runner. I do not know if you know this but the Maze Runner was written during the Swine flue outbreaks. Hence why a the book has some type of disease in it. Just thought i’d share! I really loved your blog post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

