Stuck Wanting to be Like Chuck

One of my favorite novels of all time, Fight Club, just so happened to be written by one of my favorite authors, Chuck Palahniuk. Just as I’m sure many of us have done, when I was in high school and had just decided that writing was what I wanted to do, I searched and searched for any advice given by Chuck Palahniuk that could make me write just like Chuck Palahniuk. I would try to write stories with crazy unforeseen twists like in Fight Club, or I’d try to write stories that were sexually dirty, but not to be considered erotica, like Smut. There was just something about his language, his stories, his style that drew me in and made me want to do what he did.

When I got to college and started really learning about what it takes to be a writer and developing your own style and voice, I took it all with a grain of salt, I still wanted to be Chuck. While I am still a huge fan of Palahniuk’s, I have since grown to understand that there is only one of every mega successful writer, and while you can imitate their style of writing in the end, you have to have your own voice and style to truly be successful.

However, in my pursuit to be Chuck Palahniuk, I found Chuck’s advice to becoming a better writer. It is touch and it is challenging, but it is one way that I can make my writing be a bit more like Chuck’s while still retaining my own personal identity as a writer.

Chuck Palahniuk’s advice:

http://1000wordseveryday.tumblr.com/post/54758529019/writing-advice-by-chuck-palahniuk-in-six

Leave a Reply

