The Usual Writing Process

clock-01

When I wake up in the morning, I grab a cup of tea and check out the news to see  what happened overnight. I then head off to classes and start my day. When you ask John Green about his writing process or mornings, the first question you be asked back, from him, will be along the lines of, “Is this a normal business day or a travel day?” And of course you would rephrase the question, and ask him about his normal days.

As a YouTuber, Nerdfighter, author and father, john has a busy plate. His mornings usually consists of writing for around four hours and then he grabs some lunch for an hour or so. The rest of the day is dedicated to business stuff and YouTube. As he states on his website, he works from “eight AM to six PM.” He has found it hard to stick to his schedule when he has to travel and visit the movie sets, but he still tries to stick to it as much as possible. I think that this is great because, much like John, I like to plan out my homework in advance. I want to know what day I can go to the grocery store, or grab lunch with my friends.

One question that I really like on his website was, as follows, because you should never hate writing or dread it if you want to have that has a profession.

Q.  Do you ever wake up in the morning and dread writing?

A. No, not that I can remember. I often get mad at myself because I’m writing poorly, or worry that I’ll never write another book, or feel frustrated because I’m up against the limits of my talents, but I never dread writing. So I often feel that I’m not up to the task, but I never dread it.

Leave a comment